‘The movie will begin in five moments
The mindless voice announced
All those unseated will await the next show
We filed slowly, languidly into the hall
The auditorium was fast and silent
As we seated and were darkened
The voice continued
“The program for this evening is not new
You’ve seen this entertainment
Through and through
You’ve seen your birth, your life and death
You might recall all the rest
Did you have a good world when you died?
Enough to base a movie on?”‘
-The Doors, (Randall Jahnson and Oliver Stone)

I originally heard this on an old mixed tape I had floating around my bedroom.  It must have been almost twenty years ago.  I’ve since seen the movie and while I think it’s good it’s not on my most watched list and I don’t have any special feelings towards it like I have with many movies.  But this quote, it’s become burned into my psyche like little else.

I’ve always tried to live my life like this, but lately I’ve felt myself slipping.  Ok, not lately.  For about the last year.  But that’s lately enough for me.

It’s time to go back to the old me.  The me that can do anything.  The me that will do anything.

The next three months of my life are going to come straight out of a Hollywood script.  It seems crazy to say that.  That’s ok; I’m crazy.

I care how things turn out, but I’m not going to worry about that.  I’m going to follow Nike’s advice and “Just do it.”  I’m going to learn from what Nickelodeon taught me many, many years ago – not to just set here, to DO SOMETHING.

Mistakes are made, but nothing is irrevocable.

Time to prove that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

