The Cast of Celebrity Apprentice: Part One

This year’s cast of The Apprentice is going to be fun. I’m a pop culture junkie and watching the people that have created some turning points and high points in that which I love make fools of themselves in the name of charity is amusing. Some of the people on the show are less famous that others, and each has their own niche so I thought I would break them down as they’re introduced in episode one.

Some of these people I’ve never heard of. I’ll give you each “player” from my point of view, which might just make it easier to relate to future posts. Or not, but I’m doing it anyway.

Master Illusionist and Vegas Superstar Penn Jillette
One of my favorite celebrities, I watch Bullshit regularly. I don’t always agree with him, but this dude is funny, intelligent and passionate. It doesn’t hurt that he’s a big guy. Will we see a Meatloaf reenactment from him this year?

Pop Icon Debbie Gibson
Debbie Gibson’s title says it all. She wasn’t a singer – she was the blonde belter of a generation. She’s barely relevant, knows it and doesn’t care enough not to have fun with it. This woman starred in ‘Mega Python vs. Gatoroid’ and it doesn’t bother her one bit. Just a few years ago, she performed in Massillon. People like me know that she’s never stopped working, has more talent than most and deserves to have the spotlight remain on her. I’m in full on root mode.

Comedian and Internet Trailblazer Adam Carolla
I’m not a huge fan, but this guy gets respect. He does what I do but in a much more successful way. He’s famous because he has a big mouth and very little filter. This guy is going to be stirring the pot when he gets the chance, and since he’ll be stirring bruised egos and bad attitudes, it’s sure to be enjoyable.

Miss Universe Dayana Mendoza
Never heard of her. First impression – she spells her first name interesting. Where is she from? When did she win Miss Universe? Will someone please get her into a bikini? I mean, hey, the only thing I know about her is she won a really important beauty contest so let’s build on that!

Late-Night Legend Arsenio Hall
Some of late-night’s shining moments were produced by this man. His stage was set on fire and Bill Clinton played sax on his show. My favorite spot was when he interviewed Jim Henson, a man that the whole world misses, whether they realize it or not.

Movie Star and Grammy Award Winner Tia Carrera
Many of my adolescent dreams were occupied by this woman. I didn’t know that she was ever nominated for a Grammy much less won one, but now I’ll have to learn a new piece of trivia because I’m interested. I also wonder why she is still relevant – not because I’m surprised that she is but because I’m surprised I didn’t know. Maybe she’ll come back to my dream world.

Rock Star and Twisted Sister Frontman Dee Snyder
This guy is pretty awesome. It shouldn’t be a surprise that he’s on the show, after he did a guest spot on the last season. Most people think he’s bat-shit crazy, but he’s been known to be able to keep it together and make good decisions. This will be an interesting environment for him.

The Funniest Woman in America, The Queen of Mean Lisa Lampanelli
She’s going to be fun. This is an outspoken and opinionated woman who believes in many of the same things I do. I don’t know much about her, so I’m interested to see whether I’ll root for her. There’s the potential that she has a personality that could rub me the wrong way. In a lot of ways, she’s the female Adam Carolla – they’re both potentially annoying and impressive at the same time.

Star of American Chopper Paul Teutul, Sr.
Look at that mustache. Look at it, I tell you! I’ve never seen American Chopper but I’ve known more than my fair share of bikers in my lifetime. This guy better take no shit, tell it like it is and do the work of three regular celebrities to get my vote – but if he pulls that off without reenacting some of the more egregious biker stereotypes then he has my vote.

Since there are 18 contestants and I don’t want to make each article too horribly long, I’ll stop there. You can find the second half of the contestants here.

For now, I’ll leave you with the promo for this season.

1 Comment

Filed under Television

One response to “The Cast of Celebrity Apprentice: Part One

  1. Pingback: Celebrity Apprentice – Season 12 Episode One | Constant Ramblings

Leave a Reply

